Make a reservation:
Close
Want to hear more?

Hotel History

1935
The beginning
Lord and Lady Strickland first had the idea to create Malta's only luxury hotel.
1936
Architect appointed
Scottish architect William Binnie was appointed and construction started soon after.
1939
World War II
Construction was halted during the war and the building was taken over by the Royal Air Force.
1942
Air raids in Malta
April 27th, an estimated 100 bombs were dropped on the building and gardens.
1947
Official opening
Despite enduring heavy bombing, the hotel celebrated it's official opening in 1947.
1949
A Royal Visit
Princess Elizabeth & the Duke of Edinburgh visit the hotel.
1952
Filming location
The Maltese Islands have been the backdrop for many films. Alec Guiness & Jeffery Hunter stayed at the hotel when filming the Malta Story and Singlehanded.
1964
Malta's independence
Some of the official events surrounding Malta's independence were hosted at The Phoenicia.
1966
Acquired by Charles Forte
The hotel then underwent refurbishment between 1968 and 1970.
1990
Further works
Between 1990 and 1994 further work took place on the building, including adding an additional floor.
1997
Le Méridien
The hotel was renamed in 1997 to Le Méridien Phoenicia.
2005
State Visit
The Phoenicia chosen as a venue for one of the official receptions hosted by Queen Elizabeth II during a state visit.
2007
The Phoenicia once more
Following the sale of the hotel it was renamed again as The Phoenicia.
2015
Latest refurbishment
The hotel was closed in 2015 to undergo an extensive €15 million refurbishment.
2017
The Grand Dame Returns
After an 18 month refurbishment, The Phoencia reopened in May 2017
Want to stay with us?
Make a Reservation
Want to hear more?